Students are chosen to become CJIL staff members by the Managing Board through a blind writing competition held during the summer immediately prior to the participants' second year at the University of Chicago Law School. The Managing Board may also select students to become staff members during or after their second year, or may select LLM students, based upon submission of a publishable written piece. Each spring, the outgoing Managing Board selects a new Managing Board for the following academic year. The Managing Board generally is selected from among those students having served as CJIL staff members.

2019-2020 Managing Board

Imara McMillan

Sarah Gaskell
Colin A. Parts
Executive Editors

Amiri Lampley
Silver Lin
Managing Editors

Osama Alkhawaja
Executive Articles Editor

Trevor Kehrer
Executive Comments Editor

Christine Liu
Topic Access Editor

Jennifer Bisgaier
Noah Childrey
Michael A. Christ
Anne Thorson
Alexandra F. Van DIne
Articles Editors

Nicole Sofia Alvarez
Nicole LaBell
Christine Liu
Beth Macnab
Rebecca L. Ritchie
Comments Editors


Tom Ginsburg
Faculty Advisor

Claire L. Parins
Director of Academic Publications